Chariton County
Salisbury
From Prairie to Prosperity
About
Attractions
Dining
Lodging
Recreation
Shopping
About
City of Salisbury
Salisbury Chamber of Commerce
Salisbury Main Street
The City of Salisbury, Missouri was founded by Judge Lucius Salisbury on April 4, 1867 who purchased the land for $400 in gold. The property was originally granted to Prior Bibo by the U.S. government for his service in the Revolutionary War. It had two prior owners to Judge Salisbury; John Bull and James Bennett.
Before the City of Salisbury’s establishment, Judge Salisbury erected a two-room building in 1858 on the west side of Broadway, which became known as the Salisbury Square. John Culver built the first blacksmith shop on the southwest corner of Broadway and Second Street – his being the second house built in the growing town. The first general store was opened by John H. Thomas with Judge Salisbury opening the second. A post office was established by 1863, and John Hutchinson headed the operations out of Lucius Salisbury’s house. Judge Salisbury also kept a house of entertainment known as “Stop-a-While,” where travelers and the stagecoach stopped. Today, the Stop-a-While Vintiques antique shop pays homage to the past and is located just off the Salisbury Square, along with many other charming shops and restaurants.
By 1870, Salisbury’s population had grown to 626. Two years later the town was struck by a large tornado that damaged downtown. In 1877, much of the business district suffered damage from major fires. The area was rebuilt by 1880 only to suffer another plague of fires in 1882. By 1890, downtown Salisbury had been rebuilt again—this time out of brick—some of which is still visible and occupied today by modern businesses.
We hope you’ll stop by to visit the many merchants and service providers located in downtown Salisbury. Visitors are also invited to join us for The Salisbury Steak Festival the second weekend of June, a family event with new activities added each year.
Attractions
Dining
Lodging
Recreation
Shopping